What's the difference between a seal and a sea lion?

Sea lions (left) are brown, bark loudly, "walk" on land using their large flippers and have visible ear flaps. Seals have small flippers, wriggle on their bellies on land, and lack visible ear flaps. Secondly, sea lions have small flaps for outer ears. True seals lack external ears altogether