What's the purpose of goosebumps?

Even though humans have evolved to have relatively little body hair, we still produce goosebumps when cold. Goosebumps occur when tiny muscles in our skin's hair follicles, called arrector pili muscles, pull hair upright. For animals with thick fur, this response helps keep them warm.