Why do dogs like to be scratched?

Many dogs experience petting as a form of affection from humans, which makes these interactions not only pleasant, but even supportive of your dog's mental health. In fact, research shows that dog brains release the love hormone Oxytocin when they're petted and given attention from a human.

---

Scratching a dog's belly can help with bonding and affection, like being part of the pack. Ultimately, dogs like it because they feel good.