How long does it take for kelp to grow in minecraft?

Kelp has a 14% chance of growing each random tick. This means that there is a 50% chance that the kelp will grow in the first 4.6 ticks, a 75% chance that it will grow within 9.19 ticks, and a 25% chance it will grow later.