What does a manatee look like?

It might seem strange to confuse a slow-moving, blubbery sea cow with a beautiful, fish-tailed maiden. Yet it's a common enough mistake that the scientific name for manatees and dugongs is Sirenia, a name reminiscent of mythical mermaids