How does the moon turn red?

When the moon is fully in Earth's shadow. At the same time, a bit of light from Earth's sunrises and sunsets (on the disk of the planet) falls on the surface of the moon. Because the light waves are stretched out, they look red. When this red light strikes the moon's surface, it also appears red.