What is a mistletoe?

Mistletoe is the common name of obligate hemiparasitic plants that attach to their host tree or shrub to extract water and nutrients. It is a traditional plant of midwinter and bear white berries around the Winter Solstice. Mistletoe is an ancient symbol of immortality.