Why are flags being flown at half mast?

Flags are flown at half-mast as a sign of mourning or respect, typically in response to the death of a prominent figure or as a mark of national tragedy. The practice comes from naval tradition, where ships would lower their flags to indicate that someone had died aboard the ship.