What is the hormone lectin?

Lectins, or hemagglutinins, are an “anti-nutrient” that have received much attention due to media citing lectins as a cause for obesity, chronic inflammation, and autoimmune diseases. They are found in all plants, but raw legumes and whole grains like wheat contain the highest amounts of lectins.