Why does brown sugar get hard?

Brown sugar hardens when moisture in the sugar evaporates. You can soften it by placing two large marshmallows in the sugar bag for two days. Remove the marshmallows break apart the brown sugar with a fork and repeat until your brown sugar is soft again.