Where do cashews come from?

Cashews grow on cashew trees (Anacardium occidentale). As such, they're classified as a type of tree nut. Mature cashew trees grow red or yellow pear-shaped drupes called cashew apples. The cashews themselves grow inside of gray shells on the ends of those fruits