When does season nine of vampire diaries come out?

Currently, there is no confirmation about the premiere or airing of the ninth season of The Vampire Diaries. After lead actor Ian Somerhalder hinted at a possible new season, everyone is scratching their heads as to what to expect from Vampire Diaries season 9.