What year did the toronto maple leafs join the n. h. l.?

The Toronto Maple Leafs initially joined the N.H.L. in 1917, as one the founding teams known as the Toronto Arenas. The club changed its name to Toronto St. Patricks in 1919, and then to Toronto Maple Leafs in 1927.