Did we evolve from monkeys?

In evolutionary theory, Humans and the great apes of Africa, chimpanzees, bonobos, and gorillas, share a common ancestor that lived between 8 and 6 million years ago. This ancestor was not a monkey, however all apes and monkeys share a more distant relative, which lived about 25 million years ago.