Where does the meaning of life is forty two come from?

The answer 42 to the meaning of life comes from Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy when they were searching for an answer to the Ultimate Question: What is the meaning of life, the universe and everything? The Ultimate Answer was 42 which took a super computer millions of years to come up with.