Why does wine turn into vinegar?

If wine is contaminated with bacteria that causes acidification, it will gradually eat the alcohol and excrete acetic or lactic acid. This bacteria exists naturally in the air and on nearly every surface. This is why it’s important to bottle wine in a sterile environment.