What animals eat wood?

Elephants eat wood, stripping bark off trees and eating whole branches. Many animals are browsers, eating leaves and branches. If an area has too many deer, the trees look trimmed evenly from the bottom, as if the trees are wearing skirts of the same length, as this is the level the deer can reach.