Why are the forty niners called the forty niners?

The 49ers is the nickname for those who flocked to northern California in 1849 hoping to take advantage of the gold rush.

---

Why are the forty niners called the forty niners? They got named the 49ers after the voyagers who had rushed the West for gold, in 1849.