What does i. dot e. dot mean?

i.e. stands for the Latin phrase “id est” which translates in English to “that is”. i.e. is used in a sentence to introduce a word or phrase that is to clarify something that was previously stated. Example: “The mood in the room was improved - i.e. happier - after the speeches concluded.”