What is a barrier block in minecraft?

A Barrier is a PC-exclusive invisible block that can serve as a better alternative for bedrock, replaced by "Invisible Bedrock" (Bedrock Edition), as it is indestructible. Barrier blocks are mainly used to build an impenetrable barrier that cannot be broken in standard survival mode play.