What is so special about forty two?

In The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy book series, 42 is given as the Answer to the Ultimate Question of Life, the Universe, & Everything. It was calculated by the supercomputer Deep thot after seven & a half million years. Deep thot warned people they never defined quite what the question was.