When did the weekend become famous?

Tesfaye created a YouTube channel with the username The Weeknd.His third mixtape was 'Echoes of Silence', released on December 21, 2011. This one also contained nine songs and completed the 'Balloons Trilogy'. The three mixtapes together skyrocketed his fame and made him a star within a year.