What's the hottest pepper you can buy?

The hottest pepper readily found in most grocery stores is the Habanero Pepper with a heat rating of 100,000 to 500,000 SHU's. It is not the hottest pepper in the world, however. The Carolina Reaper Pepper has an SHU of 1.4 to 2.2 million but is found only in farmers markets or specialty shops.