What is the recommended amount of sleep for an adult?

Recommended Hours of Sleep Per Day Teen 13–18 years 8–10 hours per 24 hours Adult 18–60 years 7 or more hours per night Adult 61–64 years 7–9 hours Adult 65 years + 7–8 hours