What's the lake about?

The Lake by Natasha Preston is a YA mystery/thriller centered around two young girls named Esme and Kayla who end up training to be counselors at a camp they attended as kids, and the two of them have been keeping a huge secret from the time they spent at the same camp ten years prior.