What's the difference between white vinegar and rice vinegar?

White vinegar vs. rice vinegar: they may be close in color, their flavors are completely opposite. Rice vinegar is incredibly sweet and delicate, while white vinegar is sour and harsh. In fact, it's the most aggressive vinegar out there—and it's more commonly used as a natural household cleaner.