Do possums stink?

Although they do not spray like skunks do, opossums emit a foul smell when they play dead, which is never a pleasant occurrence. They can also carry fleas, ticks, and diseases like leptospirosis. In some cases, they may even become aggressive and cause injury to you or your pets