What is a. c. e. s. u. l. f. a. m. e. potassium?

Acesulfame potassium, sometimes called Ace-K for short, is a zero-calorie artificial sweetener, marketed under the brand names Sunett and Sweet One. There has been some concern about Ace-K being potentially carcinogenic, though the FDA and EFSA both dismiss the claims.