Why did the confederates lose the civil war?

These are a few reasons: 1. the vast majority of the battles took place in and decimated Southern states and farmland. 2. the US naval blockade prevented supplies being provided or transported to the Confederacy. 3. US forces gained control of the main riverways, crippling Confederate supply chains.

---

Explanations for Confederate defeat in the Civil War can be broken into two categories: some historians argue that the Confederacy collapsed largely because of social divisions within Southern society, while others emphasize the Union's military defeat of Confederate armies.