Why did the confederates lose the civil war?

These are a few reasons: 1. the vast majority of the battles took place in and decimated Southern states and farmland. 2. the US naval blockade prevented supplies being provided or transported to the Confederacy. 3. US forces gained control of the main riverways, crippling Confederate supply chains.