Who are the hatfields and mccoys?

The Hatfield–McCoy feud, also described by journalists as the Hatfield–McCoy war, involved two rural American families of the West Virginia–Kentucky area along the Tug Fork of the Big Sandy River in the years 1863–1891. The feud started over a dispute of ownership of two razor-backed hogs