What kind of car is lightning mcqueen?

HITC reports that he didn't get his look modeled after one car. Instead, it's been modeled after two: the Chevrolet Corvette C1 (produced from 1953–1962) and the Chevrolet Corvette C6 (produced from 2004–2013).