What's a substitute for corn meal?

The best alternatives are corn grits, semolina, ground oats, and breadcrumbs. Rice flour, wheat flour, and tapioca starch will work in a pinch as a cornmeal substitute. This will serve a similar purpose to cornmeal but you will not get the same texture or flavor in the final product.