How do you put mods on weapons in destiny two?

Just open your Character Screen, click on your weapon details and then slot in the mod that you wish to use. As said, mods are now a permanent unlock rather than single use items. You'll be required to pay some Glimmer to slot a mod to your weapon though so be sure to have enough on hand.