When was cream cheese invented?

Around 1873 William A. Lawrence, a dairyman in Chester, New York, was the first to mass-produce cream cheese. In 1872, he purchased a Neufchâtel factory. By adding cream to the process, he developed a richer cheese that he called “cream cheese”.