What is in red velvet?

Red velvet cake is traditionally a red, red-brown, crimson, or scarlet-colored chocolate layer cake, layered with ermine icing.

---

The ingredients in red velvet cake include buttermilk, butter, cocoa, vinegar, and flour. The cocoa powder reacts with acidic ingredients such as buttermilk and vinegar to give the cake its red color.