Why are cats hairy?

The answer to this question dates back to the ancient era when cats hadn’t been domesticated by humans. They weren’t allowed a place in anyone’s house and they had to spend their entire life in the wild, including the cold nights. They gradually evolved fur to overcome this problem in cold areas.