What was the cause of john denver's playing crash?

There are a few reasons and also many conspiracy theories about the plane crash. The most logical explanation is that John Denver did not refuel his plane as he thought he had enough fuel and would use the auxiliary fuel tank if needed. Some say he purposely crashed the plan because of depression.