Tell me about the song american pie?

McLean has been cagey about the song for decades, but has always insisted that "American Pie" was inspired by musicians Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens and J.P "The Big Bopper" Richardson, who died in a tragic plane crash on Feb. 3, 1959. It became known as "the day the music died