What's a tortoise?

A tortoise is a land reptile in the family Testudinidaewith. It has a thick domed hard shell for protection. They do not swim. They are generally vegetarians. They can range from 6.8 centimetres (2.7 inches) to 1.2 metres (3.9 feet) in length. They are the longest living animals in the world.