What's the difference between mace and pepper spray?

Pepper spray is a generic term for a pepper-based aerosol spray used for self defence, and Mace is a specific brand name of pepper spray. There are many brands of pepper spray but the Mace brand became so familiar that the word “Mace” is often used to describe pepper spray in general.