What were the first u. s. coins made from?

According to the U.S. Mint: the first American coins, half dimes, were mostly silver with a trace of copper struck in the fall of 17 92. The first American coins to enter circulation were copper pennies, in 17 93.

---

The First coins in the United States were minted using either gold ,silver, or copper ,with engravings of words and inscriptions of liberty..