What happens when you hyperventilate?

Hyperventilation occurs when the rate of breathing eliminates more carbon dioxide than the body can produce leading to hypocapnia, a reduced concentration of co2 in the blood. The body normally attempts to compensate for this, but if not the blood pH will rise, leading to respiratory alkalosis.