What's the most densely populated place in the world?

Monaco has an area of 0.780 sq mi, making it the second-smallest country in the world after the Vatican. Its population as of 2018 is 38,682. With 49,230 inhabitants per square mile it is the most densely-populated sovereign state in the world.