How much garbage is in space?

There are estimated to be over 128 million pieces of debris smaller than 1 cm (0.39 in) in Space as of January 2019. There are approximately 900,000 pieces from one to ten cm.

---

There are about 2,000 active satellites orbiting Earth at this moment, there are also 3,000 dead ones littering space. There are around 34,000 pieces of space junk bigger than 10 centimetres in size and millions of smaller pieces that could nonetheless prove disastrous if they hit something else.