What is vanilla flavoring made from?

Real vanilla is from the fruit of orchids in the genus Vanilla. It's a fruit, not a bean. 99% of Vanilla Extract is synthetic vanillin, a lab-produced version of the same chemical compound that occurs naturally in real vanilla.