What's the difference between a centipede and a millipede?

Millipedes have two sets of legs per segment positioned directly under their body. Centipedes have one set of legs per segment positioned on the side of their body. A millipede will coil up and release a smelly secretion. Centipedes can bite (typically harmless to humans) and run away quickly.