Can animals have down syndrome?

Most animals’ genetic makeup is too different from that of humans to determine that the duplication of the same chromosome would have identical effects to the ones in humans with Down syndrome. Apes may nonetheless be the only species to potentially develop Down syndrome, although that’s disputed.