Do birds have good hearing?

You can't see a bird's real ears as these are mostly hidden by feathers, but birds do have excellent hearing. They can detect shorter and lower sounds than we can, which helps them to hear soft contact calls and recognise each other's songs. An owl's hearing is super-sensitive.