What's the definition of overwhelmed?

verb. To bury or drown beneath a huge mass. "the water flowed through to overwhelm the whole dam and the village beneath". It can also mean to defeat completely. "his teams overwhelmed their opponents". Or to give too much of a thing; inundate. "they were overwhelmed by farewell messages"