What is four oh one k. mean?

The 401k is a savings plan in the U.S. where money is deducted from an employee's salary and is matched by the employer. It is often invested in mutual funds. It gets its name from subsection 401k of the Internal Revenue Code. There are two types: the traditional 401(k) and the Roth 401(k).